Class-By-Class Information
Class Overview
—Introduction to Watershed Protection


Introduction to
Water Quality Monitoring


Conducting a Watershed Assessment

Restoring Anadromous Fisheries

Introduction to Land Protection

Developing and Managing Trails
on Protected Lands


Managing Protected Lands
Vernal Pools and Invasive Species


Field Assessment of the Wolf Hill Property
A "Who’s Who" of Watershed Management
Federal Agencies
Environmental Protection Agency»

Natural Resources Conservation Service»

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration»

US Army Corps of Engineers»
State Agencies
Department of Environmental Management»

Coastal Resources Management Council»

Narragansett Bay Commission»

Rhode Island Water Resources Board»
'
Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation»

Rhode Island Rivers Council»

Rhode Island Department of Transportation»

Rhode Island Department of Health»

University of Rhode Island»
Non-Government Agencies
Audubon Society of RI»

The Nature Conservancy»

Clean Water Action»

Rhode Island Public Interest Research Group»

Conservation Law Foundation»

Save The Bay»

Watershed Councils»
Site Map(Coming Soon!)
Some of the files on this site are in ADOBE PDF format and will require the FREE Acrobat Reader.
Click the icon below to get yours.

WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP PROGRAM
Connecting Land and Water

INSTRUCTORS

Meg Kerr
RI Rivers Council
PO Box 1565
North Kingstown, RI 02852
401-714-2313
megkerr@cox.net
Sharon Pavignano RI Rivers Council   sharonp@gso.uri.edu
Rachel Sholly
RI Rivers Council
610-781-2563
rachel.sholly@gmail.com
Jenny Pereira
Woonasquatucket River Watershed Council
27 Sims Avenue
Providence, RI 02909
401-861-9046
jpereira@woonasquatucket.org
Bruce Hooke
Woonasquatucket River Watershed Council
27 Sims Avenue
Providence, RI 02909
401-861-9046
bhooke@woonasquatucket.org
Don Burns
Smithfield Conservation Commission
Smithfield Town Hall
62 Farnum Pike
Smithfield, RI 02917
dtburns725@cs.com
Watersheds
Part 1 - Class Overview and Introduction to Watershed Protection
Paul Nordstrom
Director of Operations & Engineering
Narragansett Bay Commission
Paul.Nordstrom@narrabay.com
Joe Filippone
Senior Project Manager
Narragansett Bay Commission
Joseph.Filippone@narrabay.com
Jennifer Cragan
Environmental Scientist
Narragansett Bay Commission
Jennifer.Cragan@narrabay.com
Q Kellogg
Research Associate
University of Rhode Island
Bay Campus
q@edc.uri.edu
Part 2: Introduction to Water Quality Monitoring
Stream Visual Assessment
Andy Lipsky
Natural Resources Conservation Service
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
401-822-8842
andrew.lipsky@ri.usda.gov
Caitlin Chaffee
Coastal Resources Management Council
Oliver H. Stedman Government Center
4808 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879
401-783-7350
CChaffee@crmc.ri.gov
Part 3: Conducting a Watershed Assessment
Ray Hartenstine
Watershed Steward
rhartenstine@ric.edu
Part 4: Restoring Anadromous Fisheries
Phil Edwards
RI DEM Fisheries
4808 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, RI 02879
401-789-7481
phillip.edwards@dem.ri.gov
Joe Bachand
Natural Resources Conservation Service
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
401-822-8818
joseph.bachand@ri.usda.gov
Land
Part 1: Introduction to Land Protection
Ann-Marie Ignasher
Smithfield Land Trust
Smithfield Town Hall
62 Farnum Pike
Smithfield, RI 02917
401-241-0817
amignasher@verizon.net
Fred Presley
Director, Planning and Economic Development
Town of Smithfield
Smithfield Town Hall
62 Farnum Pike
Smithfield, RI 02917
401-233-1017
fpresley@smithfieldri.com
Part 2: Developing and Managing Trails on Protected Lands
Ken Weber
Smithfield Conservation Commission
5 Deerfield Road
Greenville, RI 02828
Part 3: Managing Protected Lands
Vernal Pools and Invasive Species
Kate Giorgi
Natural Resources Conservation Service
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
kathleen.giorgi@ri.usda.gov
Jonathan Twining
Smithfield Land Trust
caring4creation@cox.net
Part 4: Field Assessment of the Wolf Hill Property
Kate Giorgi
Natural Resources Conservation Service
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
kathleen.giorgi@ri.usda.gov
Jonathan Twining
Smithfield Land Trust
caring4creation@cox.net
Linda Green
URI Watershed Watch
Coastal Institute
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI 02881
LGREEN@URI.EDU
Jonathan Petrillo
Smithfield DPW Restoration Project
EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc.
2350 Post Road
Warwick, RI 02886-2242
Phone: 401-736-3440
jpetrillo@eaest.com